Hi! I have kind of a bunch of stuff to blab and I hope it makes sense, lol.

I have a lot of memories from when I was very little (Kindergarden/1st Grade) of sitting and making things. Drawings, sculptures with oil-based clay, little things glued together, all sorts of things like that. I knew back then I wanted to do something related to making things. Cartoons were particularly attractive to me, and at some point I got it in my head that I wanted to focus more on that. This was still pretty early on, and being in Maine in the 80’s, we didn’t really have access to that kind of thing in school (or outside of school). I figure things would have been different if the internet had shown up much earlier, but either way, I ended up where I wanted to be :)

Now, also when I was growing up, it was ground into our heads that you went to school, and then went to college. I grew up believing this had to be the case, and that is what I ended up doing.Today, things are way different than they were in the 80’s, and early 90’s, and we have a lot more options. Honestly, even within the past 10 years, things have changed a LOT. Back then, I knew this was the overall mission, and at some point, I connected my wanting to make things and draw, with the ‘have to go to college’ thing. I know it was some time around the 4th grade because we had some sort of day where they told us girls can do anything, and we had to sit through a lot of mind-numbing presentations about what girls could do. I think of it now, and it was not very interesting to me because every single professional they had there, dealt only in business, medicine, or something to that affect. No artists, no animators, no designers, nothing art related. But whatevs, it didn’t discourage me.

If you want to study in art, there’s a LOT you can do to learn. There is no one right way to go about it. Schools can be a great resource, but they can get expensive. Nowadays, you can find a lot of information and tutorials for a lot of things online. Learning either in a classroom or online will each have advantages and disadvantages, but each may work differently for your style of learning. You can start looking at options and see what you think will work the best for you. Also, it may depend on what you want to focus on for your studies. Someone asked me about school and animation-related things a little while ago, and I replied to it HERE. (it may or may not be helpful lol)

Long story short, there’s no one route and that’s a great thing! If you aren’t going to a school, you can still learn a lot from other places, especially online. A lot of programs offer specialized educations that cater to specific skills or areas you want to learn (like character animation, life-drawing, design, character design, and so on and so forth.) Some of these programs cost money, some can be found for free, but there’s a lot out there and you can tailor your learning to the skills you want to develop. If this is your route, like with any college or school— do your research, and also read up on the feedback of others for that type of education.

Also, it’s never too late to learn, and it’s never too early to learn. Throughout your life, you will always be learning and that’s a super rad thing. Carrying a sketchbook with you always, is also a rad thing. I’ll recommend doing that if you’re not doing it already.  I draw whenever I have a spare moment and it makes me super happy :) I hope this helped you!

View the original post on Tumblr: http://bit.ly/1l2Zk4a

Leave a Reply

